Wednesday, September 11, 2013

CD Artwork.

I have designed the artwork and contributed a track to the the 3rd 'Music and Migration' compilation on Second Language records, all profits will go to BirdLife International.

It can be bought from HERE


Way back in 2010, Second Language released a compilation album called Music and Migration, which proffered exclusive sonic wares by artists including Vashti Bunyan, Xela, Hauschka, Leyland Kirby and Peter Broderick. Themed around issues of avian migration, and the many man-made threats to international ‘flyways’ as highlighted by the nature conservation organization, BirdLife International’s Born to Travel campaign, the album proved to be both an artistic and critical ‘hit’, selling out its limited edition almost immediately.

Encouraged by its success, Second Language went on to release a second volume in 2011, the aptly-titled, Music and Migration II, this time in support of BirdLife Malta and their efforts to secure avian migratory routes across the islands. Artists included Marissa Nadler, Piano Magic, Sophie Hutchings and James Brewster.
The third and final instalment in the Music & Migration series Music & Migration III congratulates BirdLife International on their 20th Anniversary and particularly celebrates their important global work for migratory birds. M&MIII has a no less stellar cast, including as it does, exclusive contributions from eminent field recordist Chris Watson, Mark Fry, Colleen, Morr Music label mates ISAN and Pascal Pinon, Lisa Knapp, Memory Drawings, Frances Castle, Oliver Cherer (Dollboy), Gareth Dickson, acid-folk doyenne Sharron Kraus, Directorsound and Glen Johnson (Piano Magic).
'Music & Migration III' comes packaged as a 6 panel concertina sleeve beautifully illustrated by Frances Castle of Clay Pipe Records/The Hardy Tree.

Included with M&MIII is a free bonus disc, Mizieb EP, by The Home Current featuring remixes of Theme From Mizieb (originally released on M&MII) by the likes of The Boats, Opiate, Chronomad, El Búho and Blood On The Snare (Jerome Tcherneyan of Piano Magic). Two original tracks complete the set - Fiddien Torchlight Procession (feat. Anna Rose Carter) and A Case Of Domestic Violins (feat. Sarah Kemp of brave timbers/Lanterns On The Lake).
Even when the music stops, migratory birds will still face threats along their routes of travel. Find out how you can help here:
Tracklisting :

1. ISAN - Kirkeskov
2. Colleen - Bird Score
3. Frances Castle - Flight Of The Swans
4. Oliver Cherer - Croham Hurst
5. Directorsound - Is That The Heron?
6. Mark Fry - In Times Like These
7. Memory Drawings - Wheatfields
8. Glen Johnson - L'abandon
9. Pascal Pinon - Fuglar
10. Sharron Kraus - Birds Of The Air
11. Gareth Dickson - Amber Sky
12. Lisa Knapp - Fine Horseman
13. Chris Watson - Namaqua Moves

Tuesday, April 09, 2013

Shapwick Owl Prints

I now have some Risograph prints based on the owl on the back of Jon Brooks Shapwick LP available. These were printed at Dalstons Ditto Press and are limited to 50 copies, on 300mg A3 Munchen off white paper, numbered and signed by myself. You can buy them from the Clay Pipe Music Shop.

£20 + P&P BUY

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Jon Brooks 'Shapwick'

I started my CD label, Clay Pipe Music a couple of years ago as a way to experiment with my illustration and try out some printing. (I have handmade most of the releases).  Since then interest in the label has really grown, with support from Jarvis Cocker and Stuart Maconie on radio 6, reviews in the music press, and general all round enthusiasm for the label - with CDs often selling out within hours. On Monday my first release on vinyl 'Shapwick' by Jon Brooks will be available to pre-order. from the Clay Pipe Music website.